Finding and Making Vegan Treats During the Holidays

Finding and Making Vegan Treats During the Holidays

One of the most exciting and treasured things about the holidays for most of us are those delicious aromas from the terrific foods that get made at this special time of the year. Unfortunately, sometimes vegans can get overlooked when it comes to holiday baking. If a recipe calls for milk, it need not be dairy milk. Instead, opt for soy, almond, rice, or hemp milk.
Eggs are an unnecessary ingredient, but they’ve been used in baking for centuries. Rather than turn back the clock to look for tasty recipes, instead look to the present. You can adapt any traditional cookie recipe by using egg substitutes, including apple sauce, bananas, and ground flaxseed. Ener-G is a commercial replacer that is vegan, and it provides the consistency of eggs for cookie or cake recipes. Tofu is also a good egg replacer for quiche and “non-egg” salad recipes.
 
Don't forget something to wash down those sweet treats. Chances are you may have a regret or two involving the traditional egg nog. Whether it’s belting out that karaoke tune out of key at the office holiday party or something a bit more extreme, egg nog can be consumed without guilt now. In fact, vegan, alcohol-free “egg nog” is not hard to come by. You don’t have to rely on homemade varieties, either. Both Silk and So Delicious make a scrumptious vegan egg nog that’s sold in the freezer sections of both health food stores and larger grocery stores as well. Simply look in the milk section to find it from November through the new year.